Yale University

Support Network

Purpose


Don Edwards

In 2015 our Class Council endorsed the formation of a Class support network modeled on a similar effort by the Class of 1963. 

The support network consists of volunteers from the Class of 1964 who may be able to offer not only a sympathetic and experienced ear but also concrete and helpful suggestions to classmates dealing with issues familiar to the volunteer through personal or professional experience.

Classmates can join the list of network volunteers by contacting Don Edwards '64, who volunteered to create this network and who continues as its coordinator. In addition to the most common medical concerns (hypertension, prostate, hearing loss, arthritis, cancer, heart disease, diabetes), people with experience with substance abuse, depression, financial reverses, bereavement, and end-of-life concerns would be valuable additions.

Confidentiality

This support is strictly confidential. Network volunteers do not report the identity or content of their contacts with classmates.

List of Network Volunteers

Below is the current list of network volunteers. You can solicit support simply by contacting one of them. Where the volunteer's area is listed as "general support," it indicates that the volunteer is happy to listen and try to be helpful across the range of issues we typically face at this stage of life. Don Edwards will be happy to help you make a useful connection. 


Class of 1964 Network Volunteers (revised 6/16/15)

Name
Area
Contact Information
Dave Anderson
Laguna Beach, CA
Tax problems; children with addiction
Tim Bachmeyer
Orlando, FL
Thriving/surviving cancer; retirement and aging
Paul Balser
New York, NY
Addiction
Arthur Boylston
Oxford, UK
General medical issues
boylston_3@hotmail.com
011-44-1865 766754
Bob Bulkeley
Campton, NH
Drug/alcohol abuse
rdbulkeley@gmail.com
(603) 536-1791
Brooks Carder
Del Mar, CA
Parkinson's; addiction; disabled spouse
brooks@carderemail.com
(858) 350-6708 or (858) 775-9224
Don Crabtree
Basking Ridge, NJ
General support
Richard Dauphine
Carmel, CA
Orthopedic surgery
Bill Drennen
Shepherdstown, WV
General support; loss of a spouse
wmdrennen1@me.com
(304) 876-1236
Hood Franks
Scottsdale, AZ
Cancer; ALS
hood@franksweb.com
(480) 905-2652
Bill Galvin
Greenwich, CT
Alcoholism
wwgalvin3@gmail.com
(203) 618-9800
Charlie Goldman
Columbia, SC
Retirement; family issues; men’s groups; open-heart surgery; atrial fibrillation
Terry Holcombe
Old Lyme, CT
Atrial fibrillation
Jay Huffard
Stamford, CT
Finance and business
jayhuffard@me.com
(203) 962-6647
Peter Hutchings
New York, NY
Hearing-aid issues
mdwplh@mac.com
(917) 664-5384
Waldo Johnston
Vero Beach, FL
General support
Dave Kalayjian
Clinton, CT
Orthopedics
dbkalayjian@comcast.net
(860) 552-4230 or (860) 754-4777
Steve Klingelhofer
Chestertown, MD
Substance abuse; death, dying, grief; family relations in stressful conditions
stephankl@aol.com
(410) 810-3999
Loring Knoblauch
Chicago, IL
Prostate cancer
Mark Krinsky
San Francisco, CA
Alcohol/drug abuse
markymaypo@aol.com
(415) 931-0110
Tony Lavely
Atlanta, GA
Spouse/child with cancer; death of sibling
amlavely@aol.com
(407) 770-8942
Doug Lea
Bequia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines
Death of children; alcoholism; retirement overseas
douglasslea@me.com
(784) 495-2055
Tony Lee
Wayland, MA
General support
Chip Levengood
Philadelphia, PA
Retirement; downsizing; family issues; support of spouse's illness
pklevengood@gmail.com
(215) 238-1591
Ed Massey
Stamford, CT
General support
Mike Mazer
Washington, DC
Finance; retirement; back pain
Jon McBride
Chevy Chase, MD
General support
jonmcbride@aol.com
(301) 654-6338
Michael Posner
Florence, MA
Pediatric concerns of grandparents
mposner@massmed.org
(413) 586-7224
Pete Putzel
Brooklyn, NY
Loss of a child; back surgery
Al Rossiter
Lincoln, MA
General support
arossiter@bbns.org
(781) 259-9112
Tom Rowe
Marina del Rey, CA
Prostate cancer and post-prostatectomy
trowe@law.duke.edu
(310) 822-5892
Gus Speth
Strafford, VT
General support
gus@speth.com
(802) 765-4899
Russell Sunshine
Pacific Grove, CA
Prostate cancer;
family Alzheimer’s
Don Van Doren
Santa Fe, NM
General support;
non-profit boards
Ward Wickwire
Lincolnville, ME
Business transition; retirement
wardwick@gmail.com
(414) 899-7173
Bill Woodfin
McKinney, TX
Cancer; chemotherapy
wwoodfin@dfwair.net
(214) 236-3044